Pennsylvania State Police welcomes new troopers


HARRISBURG – Col. Robert Evanchick, commissioner of the Pennsylvania State Police, has announced that 103 cadets have graduated from the Pennsylvania State Police Academy—12 of them will be assigned to Franklin County. The class was the 163rd to graduate from the academy in Hershey since it opened in 1960.

“Being a trooper is a difficult undertaking,” Evanchick said. “It is sometimes only self-rewarding, many times perilous, and at all times demanding. It is not a job; it is a way of life.”

The new troopers who will report to Troop H-Chambersburg on May 23 are:

Nicole A. Gripp, Shannon D. Jones, Benjamen L. Maudie, Zackery L. Mothersbaugh, Michael D. Nolan, Kem K. Parada, Benjamin A. Ruiz, Joshua A. Shane, Anthony J. Sinagoga, Bret T. Smalt, Michael J. Smith and James R. Watters.

Are you enjoying local news?

First Month 99¢

Already a subscriber? Login here.