Unofficial Election Results in


Tuesday’s Election may bring some new faces to area boards, but some incumbents will remain as well. Here are some of the top races. All results are unofficial pending county review.

Waynesboro Area School District

In the Waynesboro Area School District-North End, Republican Rachel Fortney took 77% of the votes with 1,007 ballots cast in her favor, while Kim Miles garnered 12% or 158 votes. A write-in in the North End took 132 votes for the 2-year term. Miles pulled ahead in the 4-year term slot, with 59% of the votes (694) over a write-in with 40% (469 votes).

Also from the Borough, it appears Wendy Royer will keep her seat with 761 votes. James Marvin claimed 342 votes, but with just two seats open, 433 write-in votes could mean a challenge for him.

In WASD-Washington Township, Mark Smith claimed 55% of the votes (915) over write-in votes (743).

Mont Alto Borough

In Mont Alto Borough, voters chose four candidates for 4-year terms on borough council, with Greg Smith claiming 168 votes; Donna Henderson 151 votes; Earl W. McCleaf Jr 147 votes; and Carla M. Bumbaugh 142 votes. There were 8 write-in votes for that term and 17 write-in votes for the 2-year term.

Quincy Township

The race for township supervisor came in with Steve Bakner carrying 458 votes, while there were 550 write-in votes cast for the 6-year term. Alan Peck scored 702 votes for the 4-year seat, with write-in votes trailing at 370.

Washington Township

Scot Stine tallied 1,904 votes for township supervisor. There were 16 write-ins.


On Borough Council, in the borough’s 1st ward, Dade Royer garnered 298 votes over John Poniske’s 115 votes, with 1 write-in vote. In the 2nd ward, Harold C. Mumma claimed 239 votes; there were 6 write-in votes. In the 3rd ward, Jared T. Knott got 398 votes and there were 11 write-ins.

Mayor Richard Starliper snagged 1,009 votes to 111 write-in votes.

For more results and races, visit the Franklin County Election site.

Are you enjoying local news?

First Month 99¢

Already a subscriber? Login here.