Youth leagues underway

The Waynesboro Youth League's 12U tournament team will begin playing in tournaments on July 9 when it travels to Walkersville, Maryland for the Harry Smith Tournament. LEE GOODWIN

The Waynesboro Youth League’s postseason got underway on June 25 when the 10U tournament team played a doubleheader in Smithsburg, Maryland.

The Pen Mar Senior Little League tournament team lost to Greencastle in the District 14 championship series held on June 20 and 21. Greencastle won the best-of-three series in two games.

The Senior teams are from ages 13 to 16.

Pen Mar will host the Little League Sectionals beginning July 2 and ending July 5.

On July 8, the Pen Mar Juniors (13-14 year-olds) will host Greencastle in a best-of-three series at Pine Hill Recreation Area in Waynesboro. Game 2 will be July 8; Game 3 will take place July 11, if necessary.

Another Pen Mar Little League team is in action and doing quite well. The 8-9-10 year-old team is competing in the District 14 tournament in the West South Pool A in Shippensburg. Pen Mar defeated Greencastle, 12-2 on Thursday and beat Shippensburg on Saturday by the score of 15-7.

Pen Mar next plays Monday against Shippensburg. Pen Mar plays Greencastle on Tuesday. Greencastle faces Shippensburg on Wednesday in the final game of pool play, with a trip to a double elimination tournament on the line.

Below are the rosters and schedules for Waynesboro’s 8U, 10U and 12U tournament teams:


Players: Aiden Woodring, Jordan Geesaman, Easton Riddell, Caden Lewis, Lennox Bitner, Owen Dennison, Brennan Hollar, Lucas Shank, Noah Royer, Mason McIntire, Luke Rutkowski and Bryce Hall

Coaches: James Woodring, Jeremy Geesaman, Brian Bitner and Lee Woodring

Schedule: June 25, at Smithsburg, Maryland (doubleheader); July 1-4, Cal Ripken State Tournament, Upper Allen; July 22-24, Boro Classic, Waynesboro; July 29-31, Mayhem on the Mountain, Blue Ridge Summit; August 5-7, Smithsburg, Maryland


Players: Nick Carbaugh, Landon Crable, Izaac Miller, Parker Flook, Palmer Davis, Luke Halstead, Kason Shorb, Brady Myers, Grahm Pratt, Lincoln Bowie, Camryn Reed, Jack Knepper, Luke Gorzelsky, Kadyn Myers and Rylan Nichols

Coaches: Travis Carbaugh (manager), Justin Biser, Rhonda Nichols, Steve Myers and Jamie Pratt

Schedule: July 9-10, Harry Smith Tournament, Walkersville, Maryland; July 17-18, TBD; July 22-23, Boro Classic, Waynesboro; July 30-31, Snacktown Slugfest, Hanover


Players: Acen Earhart, Parker Rihel, Easton Heimbuch, Isaac Fortney, Bryson Fraley, Doug DeMott, Ben Mowen, Brixton Hollimon, Carter Porcelli, Kane Greenwood, Ryan Grubbs, Levi Young, Colby Lloyd and Eva Shillingburg

Coaches: Jason Young (manager), Dan DeMott, Justin Rihel and Joshua Porcelli

July 8, Cal Ripken State Tournament, Audubon; July 22-23, Boro Classic, Waynesboro; August 5-7, Mayhem on the Mountain, Blue Ridge Summit

Are you enjoying local news?

First Month 99¢

Already a subscriber? Login here.