Franklin County Awards Six Nursing Scholarships

Franklin County Commissioner Bob Ziobrowski, scholarship recipients Lauren Miller and Allison List, and Commissioner Dave Keller. PROVIDED PHOTO

CHAMBERSBURG – The Franklin County Commissioners have announced the 2022 recipients of the county’s nursing scholarship program. Six area high school graduates will each receive a one-time $2,500 scholarship to pursue a career in nursing.

Since 2017, the scholarship program has provided financial assistance to 36 Franklin County high school seniors pursuing a bachelor’s degree in nursing. Scholarships are funded by proceeds from the 2013 sale of the county nursing home.

Students receiving scholarships this year are:

  • Mia Estep, a graduate of Shippensburg Area Senior High School, who will be attending East Stroudsburg University;
  • Sadie Garbinski, a graduate of James Buchanan High School, who will be attending Montana State University;
  • Paige Himes, a graduate of Chambersburg Area Senior High School, who will be attending Penn State Mont Alto;
  • Emma Johnson, a graduate of Greencastle-Antrim High School, who will be attending Shenandoah University;
  • Allison List, a graduate of Chambersburg Area Senior High School, who will be attending St. John Fisher College; and
  • Lauren Miller, a graduate of Shippensburg Area Senior High School, who will be attending Messiah University

“Year after year, we continue to be impressed by the caliber of our local high school seniors who consistently display not only remarkable academic talent but also an admirable passion for helping others,” said Franklin County Commissioner Chairman Dave Keller. “There continues to be a demand for skilled nurses in our local hospitals and healthcare facilities, and our hope is that these scholarship recipients will one day return to Franklin County to put their nursing skills and education to good use.”

Applicants must submit an essay briefly indicating their short- and long-term goals pertaining to nursing school, along with a scholarship application, an official high school transcript and three letters of reference, including one from their high school guidance counselors. Students must have a minimum 2.5 GPA, participate in both extracurricular and community service activities, and demonstrate a financial need for the scholarship.

Elyse Fisler, chief nursing officer for WellSpan’s Chambersburg and Waynesboro hospitals, and Monica Diehl, chief nursing officer of Keystone Health, assisted the Franklin County human resources department in selecting this year’s recipients. There were 20 eligible applicants for the 2022 scholarship. 

Applications for the Franklin County Nursing Scholarship are available in the first quarter of each year. For more information, contact the Franklin County Human Resources Department at 717-261-3150 or visit

Are you enjoying local news?

First Month 99¢

Already a subscriber? Login here.