Leadership Franklin County recognizes 23 high school sophomores for leadership training


CHAMBERSBURG –Twenty-three high school sophomores have graduated from a year-long leadership training program surrounded by family, friends and mentors at Wilson College.

The Leadership Franklin County Youth class graduated with the knowledge needed to help them become leaders in their schools, communities and personal lives. At the ceremony, the sophomores from nine schools in Franklin County spoke on the specific areas the program had challenged and helped them develop as individuals and leaders.

“Our students demonstrated their talents and abilities as they learned how to become leaders during the program,” said Ginny Harriger, executive director of the Greater Chambersburg Chamber Foundation. “We were privileged to have such wonderful students in this class and look forward to seeing their progress in our community.”

Endorsed by all school districts in the county, LFC Youth aims to create a community of young people who are actively engaged in responsible, ethical and effective leadership. The curriculum is built around team-building exercises, sessions on leadership, communication, ethics and personal accountability, community awareness, time management, diversity and goal setting.

Thanks to a generous sponsorship from Wilson College, the program is offered at no cost to the students. The youth leadership sessions were held one school day each month from May through April. Class members were from public and private schools including Chambersburg Area Senior High School, Chambersburg Career Magnet School, Shalom Christian Academy, Shippensburg Area High School, Waynesboro Area High School, James Buchanan High School, Greencastle-Antrim High School, Fannett-Metal High School and Cumberland Valley Christian School.

The LFC Youth graduates were: Emma Champion, Ellie Kaufman, Finley Vendevander, Zayna Younes, Liam Arnold, Dylan Banda, Ari Snyder, Levi Hassinger, Carson Beaumont, Cameron Helman, Chase Davidson, Nadia Dupree, Nathan Hanks, Kayla Heinrichs, Calleigh Hull, Ben Murray, Mary Murray, Ainsley Swindell, Sophia Stoner, Lydia Lyman, Aidan Coulter, Emma Coulter and Leena Irons-Zimmerman.

Leadership Franklin County is an initiative of the Greater Chambersburg Chamber Foundation, a 501(c)3 organization, and an affiliate of the Greater Chambersburg Chamber of Commerce. It is dedicated to promoting leadership, citizenship and workforce development. Learn more at Chambersburg.org/ChamberFoundation.

Are you enjoying local news?

First Month 99¢

Already a subscriber? Login here.