Waynesboro Hospital Auxiliary Awards Scholarships to Local Students


Waynesboro Hospital Auxiliary has awarded five Health Career scholarships to high-school seniors from Waynesboro Area Senior High School and Greencastle-Antrim High School and one Pearle E. Warren Nursing Scholarship to an employee at WellSpan Waynesboro Hospital. 

The students were selected on the basis of their educational intent, scholastic achievement, general character, service activities and need for financial assistance. The Health Career scholarships will be split between the fall and spring semesters of their freshman year. The auxiliary has awarded $320,450 to 210 graduating seniors from Waynesboro Area and Greencastle-Antrim school districts in the past 51 years.

Recipients include: Layla K. Woodring (WASHS), daughter of Nicholas and Crystal Woodring, will attend the University of Pittsburgh in the genetics program and receive a $10,000 scholarship.

Raegan E. Bumbaugh (G-AHS), daughter of Chris and Amy Bumbaugh, will attend Cedarville University in the nursing program and receive a $7,000 scholarship.

Payton D. Glaser (G-AHS), daughter of Twain and Tana Glaser, will attend Duquesne University in the nursing program and receive a $7,000 scholarship.

Abigail G. McElroy (WASHS), daughter of Steven and Melissa McElroy, will attend Lebanon Valley College in the athletic training program and receive a $3,000 scholarship.

Chase R. Davidson (G-AHS), son of Carter and Carley Davidson, will attend the University of Pittsburgh in the biomedical engineering/pre-med program and receive a $3,000 scholarship.

Warren scholarship

Elivia M. Kipe, a critical care technician at WellSpan Waynesboro Hospital, is the recipient of the Pearle E. Warren Nursing Scholarship, through the Warren Trust Fund. Kipe, who is attending Wilson College in the registered nursing program and will graduate in 2025, will receive a scholarship of $5,000.

The scholarship is made possible through a bequest of Pearle E. Warren, a nursing assistant and home health care aide who had a love of nursing, to assist Waynesboro Hospital employees in their second year or beyond of an accredited nursing program. The Warren Trust Fund has awarded a total of $45,000 to 21 hospital employees since 2003.

The Laboratory Memorial Scholarship, in memory of employees Mindy S. Wagaman and Marsha Smith at WellSpan Waynesboro Hospital, is for students enrolled in a program leading to certification as a phlebotomist, medical laboratory technician or medical technologist. A total of $10,500 has been awarded to nine applicants since 2010. There were no applicants this year.

Members of the scholarship committee are Jill Kessler, Sherry Newcomer, Alice Noll and Ruth Strausbaugh.

Applications for 2025 scholarships will be available in high school guidance offices, the hospital’s volunteer office, and on their websites in January 2025.

Are you enjoying local news?

First Month 99¢

Already a subscriber? Login here.