County prison officials honored

Former Franklin County Jail Deputy Warden James Sullen (left) and Franklin County Jail Warden Bill Bechtold were recently recognized by the Pennsylvania Prison Wardens Association for their service. SUBMITTED PHOTO

CHAMBERSBURG—The Franklin County Prison Board congratulates Franklin County Jail Warden Bill Bechtold and recently retired Deputy Warden James Sullen for receiving Pennsylvania Prison Wardens Association awards at the organization’s Fall Conference.

Bechtold received the 2020 PPWA Warden of the Year Award. He was praised for his work to enhance both security and inmate programs, his cooperation with other facilities, for team-oriented and selfless leadership, and for his work to improve corrections across the Commonwealth.

Sullen, who retired earlier this year, received the 2021 Thomas A. Fulcomer Memorial President’s Award. Sullen received this award because of his dedication as a longtime PPWA member, his assistance with conference tasks over many years, by warmly welcoming new members, and for his cooperation with colleagues and facilities throughout the Commonwealth.

“The Franklin County Prison Board is proud to recognize and congratulate Warden Bechtold and Deputy Warden Sullen on their accomplishments and for achieving PPWA recognition,” said Franklin County Commissioner John Flannery, chairman of the Franklin County Prison Board. “These achievements reflect not just on them as high-caliber employees and individuals who are dedicated to their profession, but also on the County.”

Two former Franklin County employees were also recognized during the PPWA’s Fall Conference. Former Franklin County Jail Warden John Wetzel, who recently stepped down as Secretary of Corrections for the Commonwealth, received the 2021 William B. Robinson Lifetime Achievement Award in recognition of more than 32 years of dedication and professional service in the field of corrections. Gregory Briggs, a former lieutenant at the jail and current warden of the Dauphin County Prison, was recognized as the outgoing PPWA president.

Are you enjoying local news?

First Month 99¢

Already a subscriber? Login here.